Living in the free(lance) world

I thought it best I update this ‘ere blog and provide any on-lookers a bit of context to my previous ‘status update’ post. It was not meant as a form of bragging, but ‘this is what I’m currently up to’ and an appeal for help – I am in need of further work to keep myself alive (physically, mentally and creatively).

The Guardian Careers Blog recently published an exciting (or at least, reassuring) article entitled: Graduate job seeking: The rise of the ‘slasher’.

In spite of the unfortunate wording I am proud to say that I myself am a slasher. It’s not a new concept – far from it, but perhaps it’s one that will become much more widely recognised, accepted and hopefully praised in the near future given the increasingly tumultuous job market.

The phrase ‘slasher’ is simple. It is someone who works in various different fields, i.e. a journalist/web developer/lecturer or as mentioned in the article pharmacist/writer/lawyer….the list is endless and full of opportunity.

This is something that excites me because when I underwent my placement at BBC Radio 1 back in 2009 I did so with the intention of becoming a Music Journalist/Reporter and instead came out with knowledge of the roles of Producers/Journalists/Executive Producers/Editors/Documentary Makers/Broadcast(Unit) Assistants/Web Developers…all sorts and despite my excitement of having such insight (plus the opportunity to rule out those I was uninterested in) I was given these words of advice within my exit interview, “narrow your focus”.

Narrowing my focus has since been my aim but with very little success. I have been living in constant fear that my skills and work experience will appear too broad to employers and I will seem indecisive. I’ll admit I have been very much undecided in the past but I honestly don’t believe that should be seen as a negative attribute, as long as you have drive and the willingness to be dedicated to whichever job you take on.

I once interviewed Hardeep Singh (of The One Show fame, among other things) – he told me in a rather blunt manner that people shouldn’t be pigeon-holed and nor should they be put off doing a variety of roles; “why should anyone have to be just one thing?” he stated in a firm, almost abrupt manner. Regardless of your perception of Singh, his words resonated with me. Rarely do people know exactly what they want to do in life, let alone have the confidence and opportunity to make that job happen.

I now have a much clearer idea of the type of work I want to be involved with now due to the very fact that I have experimented with events, broadcasting, writing, PR and so on. I understand that it is going to take some time to get there; along the way I will have to pick up odd jobs and simply apply the same enthusiasm regardless, as that is just the way the world is – we need money to survive and people to put in hard work to what others see as menial jobs.

I wish everyone was forced to work in an admin or labour-intensive job before embarking on their careers so that they could share the same perspective, then perhaps they’d appreciate how hard it is to ensure an organisation functions successfully and fully appreciate that no one in this world is superior to another (this is not meant to sound pro-communism, it’s just common sense).

And on that note I’m off to write an article, then a radio script, look into the likelihood of securing arts funding and re-shaping my CV for part-time work to pay the bills….it’s going to be a long night, but for once in my life I’m feeling pretty positive about it.

2 Comments

Filed under Comment, Multi-platform Media Work

2 responses to “Living in the free(lance) world

  1. Pingback: Living in the free(lance) world | Hayley Clarke Media | World Media Information

  2. Rosie

    I completely agree with this – I think in today’s economic climate you have to be able to throw your hand to a few different things, even if you do know what you want to do. It’s refreshing to hear someone else in the same boat!

Leave a comment